Tags

, , , , ,

Have you ever noticed what you are carrying with you? So often our thoughts and our concerns can feel like a physical weight our bodies carry, and we may not be aware of it.

I have found that through a few minutes of quiet breathing with my eyes closed, I can check in and notice what I am carrying. Sometimes my shoulders feel so heavy, and I notice that I am carrying concerns for someone in my life. When I am quiet and breathing, I can sit with this and hold space for this concern. When I am quiet and breathing, I can transfer the weight from my shoulders into a sacred space where I hold the person and her concern out away from my body. I can see it and her and I can let it be what it is. Also, I can offer a prayer, but only after I have held space and have breathed into the wounded place, into the brokenness.

One reason why I carve out time to sit in silence every day is to meet the face of God, but also, it is to release the load I am carrying. It is to release the things I have taken on throughout being in relationship with others.

It is truly a gift to hold sacred space for those I know, love, and am connected to through this web of human experience. It is a gift to feel comfortable to sit in silence and to feel the shift of what I carry into what I offer up. I find that by transferring my thoughts and concerns through the quiet space I can lay them down and know they were heard. I walk away lighter and more capable of helping others after I lay my burdens down at the feet of the One who wants them.

Photo credit: paul bica / Foter.com / CC BY

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.
~ Matthew 11:29-30

Photo credit: paul bica / Foter.com / CC BY

