Tags

, ,

Praying
by Mary Oliver

It doesn’t have to be
the blue iris, it could be
weeds in a vacant lot, or a few
small stones; just
pay attention, then patch

a few words together and don’t try
to make them elaborate, this isn’t
a contest but the doorway

into thanks, and a silence in which
another voice my speak.

I have had a long love of silence, despite being an only child and having silence as a playmate. It feeds me, stills me, reminds me, and grounds me. Over the years I have become more intentional with how my prayer life works because gone are the days of fitting my round self into a square hole!

My time with God looks nothing like how I was taught to approach God from my Sunday school days. Now, it looks like me meeting a close and personal Friend, whom I love and genuinely want to be with:

  • It looks like breath.
  • It looks like walking.
  • It looks like silence.
  • It looks like nothing.

… so this is how you swim inward,
so this is how you flow outward,
so this is how you pray.
~ Mary Oliver

Photo credit: FotoRita [Allstar maniac] / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

Photo credit: FotoRita [Allstar maniac] / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

