Tags

, , , ,

A couple of weeks ago I was thinking some random dark thought and noticed that I was holding my breath. I immediately took a huge lungful of air and allowed the light to come in with my breath. Instantly I felt better.

How often do I hold my breath?

How often do I not notice that I am holding my breath?

How often do I hold onto negativity and allow it to sit in my gut?

Probably more than I’d like to admit!

Since this sudden realization, I have taken to checking in with my physical self more frequently. I notice my breath. I notice where my shoulders are. I notice how I feel in my skin. Once I notice where I am and how I am, I can make any necessary changes–but most importantly, I am in the present moment. And I am breathing with intention and attention.

The most important thing for me is not to look at how I approach each day and each moment with a sense of, “I cannot believe that you do that“, as if this is more evidence for my imperfection or unworthiness, but, rather to approach each day and each moment with grace and acceptance. The beauty of noticing is that I can be fully present for myself, hold space for where I am at any given time, and appreciate it–all of it.

Photo credit: visualpanic / Foter / CC BY

Photo credit: visualpanic / Foter / CC BY

