Tags

, , , , , ,

I have a truth to share, I have long held my spirituality and my relationship with God as my own; something quiet and tentative at times. It was an attempt to keep my childhood and the rough religiosity I grew up with out of my own household and childrearing–to not allow its face to see my children. I have walked through the valley of shadows, and it looked like fundamental Christianity, but it smelled like death. I no longer walk this path, but it has taken me some time to come out from under its darkness. As Barbara Brown Taylor says, “I have learned things in the dark that I could never have learned in the light, things that have saved my life over and over again, so that there is really only one logical conclusion. I need darkness as much as I need light.”

Since my awakening and my realization that instead of being engaged with life I have disengaged, I have found God in a new way. It started when I listened to my need for and the call of silence in my life. I began to unravel and to unfurl, and it was good. I have been on a journey to learn more and to incorporate contemplative prayer into my life. It is becoming so much a part of me that I can’t not share it–I can’t not speak of it and I can’t not breathe it. I am comfortable with my spirituality in a way I never previously experienced, and this is allowing me to share my approach to God with my children. This, my friends, is what grace looks like.

Little do they know that they have been witnessing my spiritual development. Now I am able to speak of it and share my love of God, of silence, of prayer with them in ways I previously could not even dream about.

I started with the book, Journey to the Heart: Centering Prayer for Children, and it has been a wonderful introduction for my eight year old and my eleven year old boys to the world of contemplation through centering prayer alongside me. We can talk about the value of silence and quietude. We can experience being with God inside of a quiet center, and sometimes we emerge with tears of gratitude and peace.

More than anything, I want my sons to have experience meeting God in an authentic, practical, and simple way. This is it for us–for my family. I’d love to share this venture as we progress down the path of spiritual oneness and unity as a family and as people who seek God’s face at every step.

“God is there inside you, in the quiet. Rest within.”

Journey to the Heart: Centering Prayer for Children by Jelenek

Journey to the Heart: Centering Prayer for Children by Jelenek

This is where we start:
“Six minutes of silence. A journey to the center of you with God. That is the time the journey will take you.”

❤ ❤ ❤

