Tags

, ,

What are the things you know but have forgotten?

It could be something along the lines of a spiritual truth, a self-care reminder, or simply something practical (such as not washing socks with the fitted sheets…).

I was recently getting my oil changed, and as I was sitting and waiting I had all of these thoughts that I had to capture in my journal–quickly! When I returned to my desk later, I sat down and felt wildly productive with all of these new ideas I was processing. Once I got my bearings, I felt the pull back to the “old”; back to the “oh, but I really need to (fill in the blank)”. I started to feel my productivity dwindle.

What I had forgotten was that I need to be away from where I am comfortable–away from where I produce, work, write, grade, pay bills, so that I can get in touch with those ideas and thoughts that hide behind the daily stuff–to get to the newness that transcends the every day minutiae.

peacock eyesJulia Cameron, in her book The Artist’s Way, she writes about going on an “Artist Date”. Here is an excerpt from her website, “The Artist Date is a once-weekly, festive, solo expedition to explore something that interests you. The Artist Date need not be overtly ‘artistic’ — think mischief more than mastery. Artist Dates fire up the
imagination. They spark whimsy. They encourage play…. they feed our creative work by replenishing our inner well of images and inspiration. When choosing an Artist Date, it is good to ask yourself, ‘what sounds fun?’ — and then allow yourself to try it.”

The purpose is to take yourself out of your ordinary and to go somewhere different and to listen, to observe, to be. Capture what is around you. If you are at a diner, what conversations do you hear? What do the new noises, sights, and sounds bring up for you?

Why not travel to the next town and find a coffee shop, a park bench, a town square, or maybe it is time for that renaissance festival you’ve always wanted to attend?

Perhaps it is time for an oil change… but don’t forget to take your journal.

