Tags

, , , , ,

Earlier today I could not figure out why I was in such a rush. I stopped and checked in with what was going on. As I shifted and out-paced myself, I realized it had been a little while since I have sat in silence and wonder. Weekends are a difficult time for me to be silent, especially when I am in need of it. I have to be very intentional, and I have to ask for the time from my husband and children. Looking back, yesterday was a long ascent to the peak of getting too much information in and not enough time to process it by stilling my mind. I was done, but I didn’t notice–until today.

And here is where I met grace. I allowed her to cover me. I allowed her to usher me to my silent spot. I sat down what was in my hands, and I followed her into the quiet where I met God, again.

It’s about the noticing. It’s about the listening. It’s about the checking in when something doesn’t feel right or feels out of place. It’s in the breath that accompanies the noticing. And, above all else, it is in the grace that comes with the breath. There is a generous welcome that accompanies arriving in the present, which is full of awareness and light. The gift is in the noticing; because only then can space be made for what is living inside of you. Noticing allows you to breathe new air into the place that is rigid and  in need of your attention–your full attention.

What is living in you today? What do you need to breathe new life into?

Photo credit: melolou / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

Photo credit: melolou / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND